TABLE TALK

When I was young, my family used to sit down at the table every morning and evening for meals. In the morning, my mom would set a full table with a space for each one of us. It was a feast regardless of what we were eating. It could be oatmeal or just cereal, but nevertheless, it felt as though it were complete and I was full in more ways than I ever understood. Even yet today, I can still muster up the feeling I would have knowing that each day, when I came out to breakfast, it would be there – THE FEAST!

Now, I’m not saying we all have to create a feast for our loved ones like my mom did for us. There’s no condemnation intended! However, there is a Biblical aspect to consider.

Psalm 23:5 states, “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.” Other translations literally use the word “feast”.

The word “table” denotes a kings table that was one of private or sacred use. The table that God presents to us is a place of intimacy. It’s a place of belonging, safety, peace and rest, if we choose to be seated. He doesn’t force us to sit down at the table. He prepares it or presents it to us so that we can choose to take part in the peace, confidence, joy and rest that a feast atmosphere carries. Also, notice it is in the “presence of the enemy”. This table is so complete – the feast so amazing – that even when placed on the battlefield, even in front of our foe, we are at peace, rest, and safety if we accept what God offers.

What a powerful visual that God has given about the posture we carry as followers of Christ. Of course, we know it’s not a literal table. Rather, it’s a spiritual one. When I am so intimately acquainted with the presence of God in my life, when I am so fully and completely enjoying His feast, my environment doesn’t matter. Even in the battle or the chaos of plain life, I will be at the table of the Lord, feasting on His Word and nourishing myself with His presence. The result will be a cup, which is my life, that overflows with power, anointing, understanding, wisdom, peace and rest.

So sign me up for the feast! Lord knows, I love to eat!!!!!

4 thoughts on “TABLE TALK

  1. Great read!! Its so funny I have been reading lots about what God says about our enemies! I must admit I really enjoy the what the scriptures say about our enemies. 🙂 I was reading Psalms 27:6 Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; oh and Isaiah 61:8 “For I, the LORD, love justice; I hate robbery and wrongdoing. In my faithfulness I will reward my people and make an everlasting covenant with them. So comforting!!! Its so awesome that God is like that and even though he says to love our enemies he lets us know that he has our back! I hope its not bad that I have been enjoying these verses so much lately. However its so true that one must choose to be seated at the table and trust God with the rest!! Thanks again for another great post! 🙂

  2. On Sunday’s was the day of feasting at our home. Cooked with love from scratch, but first to church. Christ always gave life changing tidbits when he was breaking bread. Sermon on the mount, feeding the 5K, fishing by the sea and the last supper. Feeding the body and soul.

  3. Thank you Pastor Karen, your insight helps me to understand Psalm 27:6 and Isaiah 61:8, and apply these verses, not just for our future in heaven, but for our present time with Christ today, with a better understanding and expectant heart. Let’s continue to get empowered through Christ’s blessings for us now in the present. What a relief to enjoy greater meanings for His Word,..God’s scriptures are limitless!

Leave a Reply

