CLEANING OUT THE CRACKS!

This morning I began my 21 days of fasting and prayer.  I absolutely love the fact that we, as a church, practice fasting together at the beginning of the year.  Whether it’s cobwebs in the heart or absolute chaos of the mind, it’s a chance to write new things on a fresh slate. He’s drawing me into His presence so I can know His heart for me this year.  Psalm 27:8 says, “My heart says of you, ‘Seek his face!’ Your face, Lord, I will seek.”

A funny thing happened as I was reading. I put my hand down inside the big family chair I use for my quiet time and made a huge discovery. There was tons of junk under the cushion and in the cracks and crevices of my chair. Papers, coin, candy wrappers, old tissue and many more articles you really don’t want to know about. =)  It was a pile of junk and trash that was embarrassing, horrifying, ridiculous and extremely revealing!

If you know me at all, you know I’m kind of a neat freak. I follow my mom’s motto, “Everything has a place so keep everything in its place!” So, my chair looked clean and comfortable! Next to the chair is a simple lamp and a small table. It was perfect for a cup of coffee and a few small books. It’s a great atmosphere, and yet, there was junk in the cracks! It reminded me of what God had already been speaking to me about. My heart is just like the big family chair – appearing neat and clean on the outside but full of cracks and crevices that need attention. He’s all about growing us up in Him. In order to do that we have to dig deep. We must let God reveal to us what needs to be cleaned out of the hidden places of our lives to make room for a greater influence of His Presence.

During this time as I set aside food and consecrate myself from all the distractions that keep me too busy to hear His voice, I’m letting God reveal to me the junk that has become “lodged” in my life.  Some of it’s embarrassing. Some of it’s just completely unnecessary. Yet, it’s filling up space in my heart and mind which leaves less room for God. I want the junk out and God inside!

God, as uncomfortable as it may be to clean out the junk, it’s what will allow me to become more like You. Above all, I want to be filled with Your presence rather than my desires. I yield my heart to your ways and to your thoughts, not mine!  Oh, and God…thanks for the visual!

2 thoughts on “CLEANING OUT THE CRACKS!

Leave a Reply

